INDvSL: India defeated Sri Lanka by 7 wickets in second T20, 1-0 in series

Ind Vs SL: India has won the New Year -2020 on Tuesday. The hosts defeated Sri Lanka by seven wickets in the second T20 match played at Holkar Stadium here on the basis of their all-round game. India captain Virat Kohli opted to bowl after winning the toss and the bowlers of the hosts restricted Sri Lanka to 142 for nine wickets in 20 overs. India easily achieved the target by losing three wickets in 17.3 overs to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20 series. The first match of the series was canceled due to rain in Guwahati.

The target was 143

Chasing a target of 143 runs, the pair of Lokesh Rahul (45) and Shikhar Dhawan (32), who was returning after injury, gave a strong start, adding 71 runs in nine overs for the first wicket. Rahul was more aggressive than Dhawan in this innings. He was going close to his half-century, but on the first ball of the 10th over, he was bowled by Dhananjay D’Silva’s ball. He faced 32 balls and hit six fours in his innings.

Dhawan was struggling from the beginning. He was not able to take the ball to the bat properly. After Rahul’s departure, he was also distracted and he was declared LBW out on Dhananjay’s ball. He faced 29 balls and hit two fours in his innings.

Shreyas Iyer took full advantage of the stage set by these two and scored 34 runs with the help of three fours and a six off 26 balls. Iyer, however, was bowled out for a total of 137, but before leaving he had reached the threshold of victory. He shared a 51-run partnership for the third wicket with the captain. After his departure, Captain Kohli (30 not out) gave India a six.

Sri Lankan innings

Earlier, the visiting team came into play in the first innings after being invited to bat, with a good start by Danushka Gunathilaka (20) and Avishka Fanadaren (22), sharing 38 runs in 4.5 overs for the first wicket. The wicket was lost. Due to a lack of big partnerships from their batsmen, the guest team could not score big. Kushal Perera scored 34 runs for Sri Lanka. He hit three sixes off 28 balls. Apart from him, Fernando hit five fours in 16 balls and Gunathilaka hit three fours in 21 balls. Dhananjay D Silva scored 17 off 13 balls with two fours and Vanindu Hasranga scored an unbeaten 16-run stand with the help of three fours in 10 balls.

Performance of Indian bowlers

For the Indian team, Shardul Thakur took the most three wickets for 23 runs in four overs. Apart from them, Kuldeep Yadav took two wickets for 38 runs and Navdeep Saini took two wickets for 18 runs while Jasprit Bumrah and Washington Sundar, who returned to the team after injury, got one wicket each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *